The ACM Awards in Case You Missed It 2

Ashley Wolfl

For all you country fans out there, you probably already knew about the ACM Awards. They were held on Sunday, April 7th at 8pm PDT. This was the 54th annual Academy of Country Music Awards. They were hosted by Reba McEntire for the 16th time. The event was held at the beautiful Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas

Reba is a wonderful host and had a lot of jokes to tell. She brought up the fact that it had recently snowed in Las Vegas saying “ It was so cold it froze us women out of entertainer of the year”. Later in the show, McEntire joked about some of the interesting duets in music now, many between country and hip-hop/pop artists. She joked that she and Cardi B would be making a song titled, “There’s No ‘U’ in Oklahoma and That’s Okuurrrtt with Me,” playing with Cardi’s infamous catchphrase.

The show opened with a performance by Florida Georgia Line and Jason Aldean, who preformed their hit “Can’t Hide Red”.

There were many awards given out. In case you missed it, here is the complete list of winners and nominees.

Entertainer of the Year

Jason Aldean

Luke Bryan

Kenny Chesney

Chris Stapleton

Keith Urban- Winner

Male Artist of the Year

Dierks Bentley

Luke Combs

Thomas Rhett – Winner

Chris Stapleton

Keith Urban

Female Artist of the Year

Miranda Lambert

Ashley McBryde

Maren Morris

Kacey Musgraves- Winner

Carrie Underwood

Duo of the Year

Brothers Osborne

Dan + Shay- Winner

Florida Georgia Line


Maddie & Tae

Group of the Year

Lady Antebellum


Little Big Town


Old Dominion- Winner

New Female Artist of the Year

Danielle Bradbery

Lindsay Ell

Ashley McBryde- Winner

Carly Pearce

New Male Artist of the Year

Jimmie Allen

Luke Combs- Winner

Jordan Davis

Michael Ray

Mitchell Tenpenny

New Duo or Group of the Year

High Valley

Lanco- Winner

Runaway June

Album of the Year

“Dan + Shay,” Dan + Shay

“Desperate Man,” Eric Church

“From A Room, Vol. 2,” Chris Stapleton

“Golden Hour,” Kacey Musgraves- Winner

“The Mountain,” Dierks Bentley

Single Record of the Year

“Down to the Honkytonk,” Jake Owen

“Heaven,” Kane Brown

“Meant to Be,” Bebe Rexha feat. Florida Georgia Line

“Most People Are Good,” Luke Bryan

“Tequila,” Dan + Shay- Winner

Video of the Year

“Babe,” Sugarland feat. Taylor Swift

“Burn Out,” Midland

“Burning Man,” Dierks Bentley feat. Brothers Osborne

“Drunk Girl,” Chris Janson- Winner

“Shoot Me Straight,” Brothers Osborne

“Tequila,” Dan + Shay

Song of the Year

“Break Up in the End,” Cole Swindell

“Broken Halos,” Chris Stapleton

“Meant to Be,” Bebe Rexha featuring Florida Georgia Line

“Space Cowboy,” Kacey Musgraves

“Tequila,” Dan + Shay- Winner

“Yours,” Russell Dickerson

Music Event of the Year

“Burning Man,” Dierks Bentley feat. Brothers Osborne- Winner

“Drowns the Whiskey,” Jason Aldean feat. Miranda Lambert

“Everything’s Gonna Be Alright,” David Lee Murphy feat. Kenny Chesney

“Keeping Score,” Dan + Shay feat. Kelly Clarkson

“Meant to Be,” Bebe Rexha feat. Florida Georgia Line

Songwriter of the Year

Ross Copperman

Ashley Gorley

Shane McAnally- Winner

Chase McGill

Josh Osborne

The ACM Dick Clark artist of the decade award was given to Jason Aldean

Well, that’s it folks, your complete list of winners and nominees from the 2019 ACM awards.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s